

# AuPS Awards and Prizes

## THE A.K. MCINTYRE AWARD



### **Sponsored by SDR Scientific**

The **A K McIntyre Prize** is named in honour of the Society's first President.

The Prize shall be awarded periodically to members of the Society who are judged to have made significant contributions to Australian physiological science over their pre-doctoral and early post-doctoral years.

### Application & Eligibility:

To be considered for this award, nominees must:

- be proposed by two financial members of the Society, who should provide a statement of not more than 500 words summarising the nominee's achievements.
- provide a curriculum vitae and a list of published works, including conference proceedings.
- normally have graduated from their PhD or equivalent doctoral degree by 1<sup>st</sup>
  November not more than seven years before the year of application.
- be financial Ordinary Members of the Society (note: provisional members are not eligible to apply)

In considering nominations, the judges will take into account the nominee's contributions to scientific meetings of the Society. No individual may be awarded the prize more than once.

The judging committee shall consist of the Executive Committee of Council (except that any member with a conflict of interest shall be replaced with another Councillor), together with up to two additional members of Council who shall be appointed for each specific round of nominations.

### Prize:

The Prize, sponsored by **SDR Scientific**, consist of a medal and the sum of \$1000. The winner will be invited to present their work at the Physiological Society of New Zealand meeting in Queenstown in the following year, travel costs will be supported.

When awarded, the winner will be announced during the conference dinner at the following AuPS meeting, and in the December Newsletter.

#### Email applications to the AuPS National Secretary

Assoc Prof Glenn Wadley: <a href="mailto:glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au">glenn.wadley@deakin.edu.au</a>

**Closing date:** Applications close 5pm, 9<sup>th</sup> October 2020.

Past winners can be viewed in the *archive*